press release


Tallinn Open WTA 250 qualification and main draw players have been announced.

WTA confirmed the names of 20 female tennis players playing in the qualification tournament of the Tallinn Open, of which 6 players will make it to the final competition.

On 24-25 September the following players will compete for entry to the Tallinn Open WTA 250 main draw: Sorana Cirstea (WTA 37), Jaqueline Cristian (WTA 77) and Elena-Gabriela Ruse (WTA 101) from Romania, Wang Xiyu (WTA 75) and Wang Xinyu(WTA 79) from China, Claire Liu (WTA 82) from the US, Donna Vekic (WTA 84) and Ana Konjuh (WTA 117) from Croatia, Dayana Yastremska (WTA 86), Lesia Tsurenko (WTA 87) and Daria Snigur (WTA 124) from Ukraine, Harriet Dart (WTA 88) and Katie Boulter (WTA 128) from the UK, Viktorija Golubic (WTA 89) Switzerland, Aleksandra Krunic (WTA 96) from Serbia, Linda Noskova (WTA 109) from the Czech Republic, Chloe Paquet (WTA 111) and Kristina Mladenovic (WTA 123) from France,Eugenie Bouchard (WTA 118 SR) from Canada and Mirjam Bjorklund (WTA 127) from Sweden.

“The list of competitors is impressively high-level – all players are among the top 130 female tennis players in the current ranking, which makes the tournament extremely competitive, and even tennis matches can be expected already at the qualification stage,” said Allar Hint, director of the Tallinn Open WTA 250 tournament.

Last week, the 21 players who secured a place in the main draw were revealed – alongside  Anett Kontaveit (WTA 2) and Kaia Kanep (WTA 34) the Tallinn Open WTA 250 tournament will feature Swiss Olympic winner Belinda Bencic (WTA 13), Brazilian No. 1 Beatriz Haddad Maia (WTA 15), Latvian No. 1 Jelena Ostapenko (WTA 16) who won the French Open WTA and Madison Keys from the United States (WTA 20), who played in the final of the US Open in 2017.

In addition, the winners in singles and doubles Barbora Krejcikova (WTA 23) and Tereza Martincova (WTA 71) from the Czech Republic, the winner of the Wimbledon tournament Jelena Rõbakina (WTA 25) from Kazakhstan and Jil Teichmann (WTA 30) from Switzerland.

Shelby Rogers (WTA 31), Bernarda Pera (WTA 45) and Ann Li (WTA 66) will take part in the tournament from the USA. Zhang Shuai (WTA 36) from China, Alison Van Uytvanck (WTA 43) from Belgium, Ajla Tomljanovic (WTA 46) from Australia, Anhelina Kalinina (WTA 47) and Marta Kostyuk (WTA 65) from Ukraine will also play in Tallinn along with Clara Tauson (WTA 57) from Denmark, Laura Siegemund (WTA 57) from Germany, Diane Parry (WTA 74) from France. 

21 main draw players can already enter the Tallinn Open WTA 250 tournament. Six players can participate through qualification games, four more players in addition to the already known 21 will be allowed to join the Wild Card passes, and six will get to the tournament after passing the qualification. One player will be able to take part in the tournament thanks to a so-called special exempt. A total of 32 female tennis players will take part in the Tallinn Open WTA 250 tournament.

Tallinn Open WTA 250 will take place from 24.09-02.10 at Forus Sports Centre in Tondi.

Qualifying matches will take place from 24.09 to 25.09.2022. The main round matches will be held from 26.09 to 2.10.2022:

  • you can buy tickets for the morning sessions on 26.09-29.09.2022;
  • on 30.09-1.10 quarter- and semi-finals will be held – tickets can be purchased for both morning and evening sessions;
  • on 2.10 the final of the tournament will take place.

In the Piletitasku environment, you can purchase tournament spectator passes, regular and VIP tickets (which also provide access to the tournament lounge).

The WTA 250 Tallinn Open is supported by the city of Tallinn, Tallink, Kapitel, Alexela, Forus, the Ministry of Culture, Porche, A le Coq, Sportland, Octagon, HEAD, Simsonship, and EAS. Media partners of the event are Ekspress Meedia and TV3 Grupp.

All the information about the Tallinn Open WTA 250 tournament is available at our webpage or by following WTA Tallinn Open on Facebook.

Further information:

Allar Hint
Secretary general of the Estonian Tennis Association

Ph.: +372 511 3535

Anu Adra-Entsik
OÜ Agenda Public Relations
Ph.: +372 509 0241

This website uses cookies. Read more ACCEPT